Canadian Shipper


Halifax Port Authority announces changes to board line-up

HALIFAX, N.S. — The Halifax Port Authority has elected D. Geoffrey Machum, Q.C. as chair of its board of directors. Machum has served on the board since 2006 and was reappointed in 2009 as a Port User appointee. He was elected by the board to a second term as vice-chair in October 2009 and continued in this position until his election as chair.

Machum is a senior partner with the law firm Stewart McKelvey, where he serves on the firm’s regional Partnership Board and the firm’s Human Resources and Governance Committee. He is actively involved in the community including as a member of the board of directors of Symphony Nova Scotia and past involvement with the United Way and the Mental Health Foundation of Nova Scotia.

In addition, the Honourable Thomas J. McInnis has been elected to vice-chair of the board. McInnis was first appointed to the board of directors in 2008 and has subsequently been reappointed for a second term of three years. He served as a Member of the Legislative Assembly from 1978 to 1993, during which time he held various Ministerial portfolios, including Transportation, Municipal Affairs, Education, Community Services, Economic Development, Labour, Attorney General and Deputy Premier. He is past president of the Nova Scotia Chamber of Commerce and president of the Sheet Harbour and Area Chamber of Commerce.

Two new directors have also been appointed to the Halifax Port Authority board of directors. Hector Jacques, O.C., has been appointed by the Halifax Regional Municipal Council as the Municipal director. Jacques formed Jacques Whitford and Associates Limited in 1972, is a recipient of Entrepreneur of the Year award, and was inducted into the Nova Scotia Business Hall of Fame in 2001.

Ted Larsen has been appointed a director in the inland transportation category of Port Users. Larsen is a longstanding member of the Halifax business community. He is a local business owner, developing and managing a portfolio of commercial and residential real estate.

Jacques and Larsen will join directors Trevor Johnson, David Henderson and Anne Galbraith.