Canadian Shipper


Chamber of Shipping appoints 2018/19 Board of Directors

Vancouver, BC — The Chamber of Shipping announced the appointment of its Directors and Officers for 2018-2019, comprising a broad range of experienced leaders from the Canadian marine industry. The Board of Directors includes:

  • Kim Christensen (Chair), General Manager Operations, ACGI Shipping Inc.
  • Garth Mitcham (Vice-Chair), Director, CSL Americas
  • Peter Amat (Treasurer), General Manager, Pacific Basin Shipping (Canada) Ltd
  • Richard Chappell, Regional Vice-President of Operations Canada, Westwood Shipping Lines
  • Marc Fellis, President, Westward Shipping
  • Dave Hill, Executive Vice-President, Wheelhouse Shipping Agency Ltd.
  • Jack Mahoney, President, Maersk Line Canada
  • Oscar Pinto, Director, Valles Steamship (Canada) Ltd.
  • Donna Spalding, Director Administration, Cruise Lines International Association – North West & Canada
  • Peter Swanson, Partner, Bernard LLP

“The competitiveness of Canada’s transportation gateways is critical to the economic viability of all shippers, especially in view of the increased competitive pressures in the United States,” said the Chamber in a statement. “The Chamber of Shipping is advocating for efficient transportation corridors and continues to address concerns with risks and environmental impacts on local communities. Canada is poised to increase international trade and should strive to manage its supply chain holistically, embrace innovative technologies, and develop a highly trained and experienced workforce at sea and ashore.

“Commercial shipping results in $30 billion of economic activity annually in Canada and, at 1.8% of the Canadian economy, ships move more than $200 billion worth of goods to and from global markets. From farmers to retailers, many Canadian jobs depend on a healthy and thriving trade environment supported by a robust and fluid marine transportation network.”



Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *